South African domestic cricket changes on the cards

Cricket South Africa (CSA) have announced that they intend changing the franchise structure back to a provincial structure from the 2021/22 season. The franchise system implemented during the 2004/05 season has proved to be the demise of domestic cricket with regard to the support of the domestic game because it disconnected cricket teams from their communities who could not identify with the new brands. The franchise system also proved to be too narrow regarding opportunities for cricketers, especially with the transformation of South African cricket when it was implemented. The only way forward for South African cricket is to implement a provincial system of twelve provinces. This would give every cricket centre a provincial team, create more opportunities for players and restore community interest in cricket again. This would once again make South Africa a true cricketing nation. However, the time is not right to make that strategic change for… Continue reading